Dear Stupid…Younger Me

images

Dear Stupid and Younger Me,

Your stutter and lisp in elementary school do not define you.

Do NOT, for the love of everything that is holy and good in this world, get a perm in the 8th grade.

Those boys you crushed on were nowhere near the caliber of man you will eventually meet, and surprise…he will crush on you, too!

High school does not last forever, and it’s not as bad as you think. School lunches are as bad as you think, however.

That boy you made out with your sophomore year of high school is not worth the months of lost friends because of it.

Your parents are not as stupid as you think. You will come to see them as wise, and your mom will eventually become one of your best friends.

College is as fun as you think it will be. And then some.

Do NOT skip your 8 a.m. classes. Get your butt out of bed and go to class. NOW!

That football player you think likes you is just using you.

That cool kid smoking a cigarette outside Pugsley Hall? You’ll marry him someday!

This man will ask you to marry him in front of 400 people. Be prepared and dress nice, and put on some make-up. Trust me on this one.

Those babies you will hold in your arms for the first time will be seven, five, and two before you can catch your breath. Don’t hesitate to hold them for another minute longer.

Do not fear getting older. You share a birthday with a young man who will always be fifteen. Embrace age; it’s a roadmap of where you’ve been simply paving the way for new roads and journeys.

Trust God. Sounds cheesy, I know, but He never lets you down.

All the best,

Smarter and Wiser Me

While the above letter only represents half of the advice I’d give my younger, dumber self, this mainly explains why I LOVE to write. I get to create characters that, because I wish it, get a second chance. Who, unlike myself, can receive a fresh start. Creating characters is therapy in a sense. I get to live vicariously through my characters. I get to play God (I’m pretty sure I’d make for a horrible God…I’d overuse the fire and brimstone). I can create, I can take away to teach a lesson, I can solve all the problems. That is the beauty of writing.

Take a moment and write a letter to your younger self. What do you wish you could tell yourself? And then, more importantly, apply that to your present life. Whatever you wish for yourself, do it, make it happen, embrace it. Make the letter twenty years from now useless and irrelevant.

Until next week, take care and God bless!

Leave a Reply

